JUST IN: House committees increase from 96 to 109 as Gbaja names chairpersons
Femi Gbajabiamila, speaker of the house of representatives, has named heads of the house standing committees.
This is even as 13 additional committees have been set up, increasing the number from 96 to 109.
The setting up of the committees follows the adoption of the report by an ad-hoc committee reviewing the house standing order during plenary on Thursday.
The vice-chairmen of the various committees were also named while ad hoc and investigative panels were set up as well.
A good number of those heading prominent committees are known allies of the speaker including Muktar Aliyu from Borno state who is the chairman of the appropriation committee and James Faleke from Lagos state who is the chairman of finance committee.
Abubakar Fulata is the new chairman of rules and business committee while Wole Oke is the chairman of the committee on public accounts.
Linda Ikpeazu heads committee on maritime while Tunji Ojo emerged is the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) committee.
Others are Abdulrazak Namdas who is in charge of the committee on army and Babajimi Benson heading that of defence.